TO THE RESIDENTS OF HANOVER TOWNSHIP FIRE DISTRICT NO. 2 AND HANOVER TOWNSHIP FIRE DISTRICT NO. 3 2021 FIRE DISTRICT ELECTION UPDATE

The past year has presented a number of challenges to each of our fire districts responding to the challenges and providing care to our residents and guests during the pandemic. The pandemic has also presented a number of challenges to the Districts' administratively, where Governor Murphy has issued a number of Emergency Orders that will impact the annual Fire District Elections. The date of the Elections has been moved to **Tuesday**, **April 20**, **2021**, and will be held in each of the respective District's polling places from **2:00 P.M. until 9:00 P.M.** On February 8, 2021, Governor Murphy announced that the April 20, 2021 Elections will be **in-person**. You may still choose to receive a mailin ballot by applying to the Morris County Clerk's office (**morriscountyclerk.org**) no less than seven days prior to the election, and dependent on circumstances there is always the remote possibility that the decision to hold in-person elections could be reversed. Another significant change concerns petitions for candidacy for the position of Fire Commissioner in each of the Districts. Normally you would file a paper petition containing the names of ten people nominating you, signed by each and then notarized and returned to the District. This year the Governor has ordered that the Secretary of State provide a secure electronic platform for persons to submit petitions to their respective Districts. Please continue to check the District's respective websites for updates on this matter.

Fire District No. 2 voters will be asked to approve or disapprove of the District's 2021 Budget. Voters will also be asked to elect two commissioners, each for a three-year term. Information on the election will be updated on the District's website https://whippanyfire.com/hanover-fire-district-2/

Fire District No. 3 voters will be asked to approve or disapprove of the District's 2021 Budget. Voters will also be asked to elect two commissioners each to a three-year term, and one commissioner to a two-year unexpired term. Information of the election will be updated on the District's website https://htfd3.com/

The Boards of the Fire Districts wish to thank you for your support of our members during these trying times, and wish to extend our continued thoughts for your safety and good health.

Sincerely,

Ray Woytas, Chairman, Fire District No. 2 Robert E. O'Hare, Chairman, Fire District No. 3